Breaking Radio Silence

2

June 26, 2013 by KWills

Well, my RoW updating faded out there, but I’m pleased to be able to report a successful couple of months.  The edit on “Haplow House” is done, and copies of the manuscript are with my test audience for a final analysis.  It is the first time I will be getting feedback from the people for whom I am, supposedly, writing, and I’m eager and terrified in equal measure.

Work has started on the next book, “Red Grass”, which is not connected to “Haplow House” in any way – although “Haplow House” does leave itself open for a prequel if the demand arises.  The story of Warren’s mother, father and uncle is certainly there to tell, but not yet.  I need to get away from the Four Valleys for a while, and work on something completely different.

I’m going to be taking part in “Camp NaNoWriMo” next month, using the challenge to get “Red Grass” finished, and then to continue working on a story that has been knocking around for years – “Beyond Imagining”.  Both stories require a good deal of world-building, and I’ve teamed up with a small group of “planners” to swap tips and tricks for knocking our stories into shape.  I’m trying very hard to stay focused, and to only work on things that are needed for the story.  As fun as it would be to work out the complete sociolinguistic history of my fictional cultures, it is not germane to the plot.  I am being good, and not making a lexicon, or a grammar, or a complete history, or any of the things that keep popping into my head.  I don’t need them.

What I do need is an ending for “Red Grass”.  I have a vague direction, and I know what sort of ending I want, but I haven’t figured out how to get there.  There are a lot of [SOMEHOW]’s in my outline, and I’d prefer to fix them before I really get to work on writing the first draft.

“Beyond Imagining” has an ending, but the middle is a bit of a mess.  I need to work out exactly how long each section of the plot takes, especially when the party splits up and comes together again.  I can’t have one group doing a task that takes six hours, and the other, three days, and then have the two groups meet up at the same time.  Not without timey-whimey shenanigans, anyway.  I need to make my some timelines – not to mention plot lines.  Right now, “Beyond Imagining” has just one plot, the main one.  I need to give the supporting characters motivation that goes beyond “being a supporting character”.

That’s a lot to get done in four days.  I think I may have slightly over-faced myself.  Oh well, I’ll get as far as I can, then see what I’ve got.  August has been set aside for “finishing off”, then September for editing “Red Grass”, so I’ve got time in hand if I need it.

Sometime during July, I expect to hear from Marjacq Scripts, the agents to whom I submitted “Haplow House” at the end of May.  Whether they say yes or no, I will need to take action.  If it’s a no, then I need to approach someone else.  If it’s a yes, then it will be all systems go.  Either way, July will be a busy month.  I hope to be updating more often, but most of all I hope that July will be as productive as May and June.

And I hope that it has been, and continues to be, a great summer for everyone.

Don’t forget that RoW Round 3 begins on Monday.  Submit your goals, fire up your blogs, and join in!

2 thoughts on “Breaking Radio Silence

  1. Gloria Weber says:

    Hey, first off WOW! You have been busy and productive. Glad to hear from you again. I wish you luck with the agency you subbed to. I’m curious as to why you are single subbing to agencies, though.

  2. K. Willsen says:

    Thanks, Gloria. What’s “single-subbing”? Do you mean sending to only one agency at a time? Because, based on the articles I’ve read, that’s how a first novel should be submitted. The rule is summed up as “One at a time” – one novel at a time, to one agent, publisher, or editor at a time. I get the impression that anything else borders on spamming, and is treated accordingly.

    I may be being over-cautious, but better safe than sorry. Publishing is a small world, and if I get a bad name with just one or two companies it could close a lot of doors. Until I have some experience under my belt, I’m going to tread very carefully.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

A-Z 2017 logo
