Updates and bunnies

2

September 4, 2013 by KWills

September is going well so far, I’m almost keeping up with my targets, and the weather is glorious.  Sunny and bright without the stifling heat of July.  In fact, perfect conditions for writing outside.

I’m outlining today, ready to get back to work on the main script tomorrow.  However, new (and old) ideas keep on intruding.  New ideas are being stored in my “plot bunnies’ thread” over at SeptNoWriMo, but there’s at least one old idea that is clamouring for my attention.  I keep telling myself that I am full for this year, but “Just Joe” won’t wait.  It’s a story I’ve wanted to tell for a while, and may end up displacing “The Listeners” as my NaNoWriMo project, if I’m not careful.

The story of “The Listeners” is pretty much decided, and the world-building is going well.  The characters are slowly gaining depth, and the sub-plots are emerging.  Logically, it is a good choice for NaNo, as I know where I’m going with it.  All I have for “Just Joe” is a main character, an ending, and a premise.  It’s much less developed as an idea, but I really want to get the story started.  Especially as I think it would suit a webcomic, and that means finding an artist to work with, which means having sample scripts prepared.

To be honest, I have no idea how to start looking for an artist, especially an experienced webcomic artist.  It will have to be an artist with webcomic experience, because I personally have no clue about how to set up and run a website – much less how to make a business out of it.  Yet another reason to postpone “Just Joe” while I do my research, in fact.

And yet, despite all these good reasons for shuffling “Just Joe” into 2014, and sticking with “The Listeners” for November, I find myself daydreaming about Joe’s world, and the stories I could tell within it.  Perhaps I should just take one day and work all the “Just Joe” itch out of my muse.  Perhaps… but one day leads to two, and before you know it I’ll have not only pushed back “The Listeners” but also “Beyond Imagining ” (again).

OK, time to get some help.  Calling all writers, artists, and creative people generally.  Or anyone who is in charge of their own work-load, actually.  How do you deal with multiple projects competing for your time?  How do you keep new, exciting ideas from derailing your plans?

Answers on a postcard in the comments, please.  Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Updates and bunnies

  1. Gloria Weber says:

    During my week I touch multiple projects, due to how I arranged it. Mondays and Tuesday are for editing or plotting out projects. Wednesday through Friday are writing on my WIP. I find plotting usually makes the itch to write something subside.

    I will tell you, in all honesty, there are few artist looking to work with writers for webcomics. Artist are in high demand by “idea” people. However, looking for someone on an art site, like deviantart, or poking around webcomic sites like drunk duck (it is currently having website issues though) is a good place to start.

    • K. Willsen says:

      That’s a good idea, thanks. I’ll have to try making “plot/edit” days and “writing” days, although it will take a bit of trial and error to find the best combination.

      I’m signed up over at dA, but I’ve only ever used my account to comment on other people’s work. I’ll have to scan and upload some pages of script (when I have them) and see what sort of reaction I get.

      I remember drunk duck from reading a massive crossover story, many years ago. I’ll have to take another look. I hadn’t thought of looking at the sites behind the webcomics I read. Told you I was a total novice at this.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

A-Z 2017 logo
