Statement of the Theme

4

March 21, 2014 by KWills

NaPoWriMo banner

It’s April, and I’m getting ready to take part in three, simultaneous challenges: National Poetry Writing Month, Camp NaNoWriMo, and the A-Z challenge.

2014 A-Z badge

This is not as daunting as it sounds, since all three challenges are linked. I’ll be posting my daily poem as part of the A-Z challenge, alongside a discussion of the particular aspect of poetry that I’m focusing on that day. From alliteration, through minute poetry, to zanila, there’s plenty to choose from. The more tenuous link is between poetry, blogging and novel writing. Where does Camp NaNoWriMo fit into all this?

Camp NaNoWriMo banner

 

Right slap in the middle. (See what I did there? With the pictures? ART!) Although poets and novelists are often seen as separate, the fact is that we all strive to become better writers. The principles of poetry can be applied to prose, and the story-telling structure of a novel can be applied to many poems. By making a study of poetry, I can only improve my skills as a novelist.  At least, that’s the plan.

If pressed, I would describe myself as a novelist rather than a poet – although I normally just call myself a writer.  My imagination tends to think in terms of stories, rather than patterns of words. However, I do enjoy the sound of a well-turned sentence, and often lament the bland quality of my own writing. A month of poetry may well be exactly what I need to take my nebulous story ideas and turn them into words that can capture the imaginations of my readers.

4 thoughts on “Statement of the Theme

  1. gapark says:

    Genius! The ultimate multitasking! I look forward to your entries. I play around with poetry, some haiku, but love reading it! I admire those who have the gift. Gail

  2. njmagas says:

    I love your theme, and thank you for choosing it. I’ve been kind of lamenting recently that I threw out all of my old high school notes on poetry and literature. I’m sure they wouldn’t have been all that much use to me, as I’ve always been a terrible note taker, but it would have at least given me a place to start looking for all the things that we learned, way back when.

    I look forward to reading your posts!

  3. Good luck with the challenge. I look forward to reading your posts 🙂

    Rebeccah Writes

  4. […] of the art of poetry, with a view to improving my skills as a novelist. This may seem odd, but as I explained at the start, there are connections between prose and poetry that serve to improve any writer’s technique. […]

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

RoW80 logo
A-Z 2017 logo
