Brevette-y is the Soul of… somthing

5

April 2, 2014 by KWills

The letter B

 

clock
c h o p s
time

 

That’s it, folks. Tiny, or what? According to the Shadow Poetry website:

The Brevette, created by Emily Romano, consists of a subject (noun), verb, and object (noun), in this exact order. The verb should show an ongoing action. This is done by spacing out the letters in the verb. There are only three words in the poem, giving it the title Brevette.

Each of the three words may have any number of syllables, but it is desirable that the poem have balance in the choice of these words. Unlike haiku, there are no other rules to follow.

I considered making today about the ballad form, but I’m not ready to return to my comfort zone yet. Even blank verse, with its even tread of da-DUM, da-Dum, da-DUM, is a bit too cosy. I’ll talk about both of these things later in the month, but for now you get a brevette.  There’s no title – or titles. Since all the sources I can find limit the brevette to exactly three lines,  I had to revise my original poem of five interlinked verses and choose just one. It wasn’t easy – but then again, that’s sort of the point.

5 thoughts on “Brevette-y is the Soul of… somthing

  1. Aditi says:

    A new form learnt! This was intelligently done! 🙂

  2. Fascinating! This isn’t a form I’d heard of. Your piece has a nice crispness to it.

    I’m featuring poetry topics, too, though more along a NPM theme than NaPoWriMo. Excited to have met you through the A-Z challenge!
    Laurel
    Laurel’s Leaves

  3. Hi, I’ve never heard of that poetic form before. Must be easy to translate the poems into other languages with only three words.

  4. Rory says:

    I admire you. I am a prose writer, hadn’t thought about poetry since college. Then I joined a writer’s group where almost everyone else is a poet. Hence I’m thinking about poetry again. And it intimidates me. I admire you not just because the poems you’ve written this month are great, but because I just think it’s brave to take on this challenge!

    Yay for to A to Z introducing me to a wonderful blog I’d have never found on my own.

  5. Alex Hurst says:

    Wow, another one that worked so well!! I love this. Especially since the spaces between “chops” makes it look… chopped! Nice work! 😀

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan. “B is for Books” is my current post.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

RoW80 logo
A-Z 2017 logo
