Euphonic Elegy

8

April 5, 2014 by KWills

The letter E

Euphony literally means “good sound“, and is a method for controlling the feel of a poem. Using long vowels, semi-vowels and “soft” consonants, gives the whole poem a mellow tone, which is particularly suited to emotional or reflective verse – such as an elegy.

The definition of elegy has changed over the centuries, but the Encyclopaedia Britannica has it as:

“a meditative lyric poem lamenting the death of a public personage or of a friend or loved one; by extension, any reflective lyric on the broader theme of human mortality”

See also here and here for more on the elegy, its background and classical form. I’ve decided to keep things relatively light, and write an elegy for lost time. I was struck down by the dreaded lurgy on Wednesday, so getting my Camp NaNo project off to a bad start. It’s not too late to make up the lost ground, but it’s still frustrating. To ease that frustration, and to practice soothing sounds, here is my attempt at an elegy.


Elegy to a Lost Momentum

The hours fade to missing days,
Slumber-stolen, in unrestful rest.
Voiceless haze.

Such hours as they should have been
Dream-driven, the muse lit on fire
Breathless scene.

Such hours will I find again
From the sofa, refreshed to arise
Dauntless pen.


Finally, the solution to yesterday’s puzzle. I’ve included the clues again for reference.

Temporary accommodation,
Or a slight effeminisation;                               (CAMP)
Though it may be very small,
Scarcely to be seen at all.                              (NANO)

May you find a friend of honour                  (CompanioN)
Where this challenge has its founder.         (AmericA)
Like conquering this, winning feels good.   (MountaiN)
Unless, perhaps, you’re made of wood.      (PinocchiO – although PianO also fits)

Congratulations to Sue for getting it right. You win a virtual round of applause: *applause*

8 thoughts on “Euphonic Elegy

  1. njmagas says:

    Lovely poem. I’d not known about euphony (or if I had, I’d forgotten it) so this was a nice learning experience for me. Thanks!

  2. Aditi says:

    Lovely poem!! Dreaminess in the verses!

  3. freee4now says:

    I’m loving this blog! Thanks so much…

    Felicity
    from Felicity Writing Away
    http://felicityburnett.blogspot.com/

  4. Loss always makes us feel poetic. Sweet poem.

  5. LadyJai says:

    wow the poem is really deep and touching. I don’t know much about poetry terms, nor can I ever remember them. I just write my poems just for me with no rhyme or reason, they just are…words. 🙂 Thanks for sharing

    Jamie Dement (LadyJai)
    My A to Z Challenge
    Caring for My Veteran

  6. What a lovely poem! So glad I read this. 🙂 Stopping by from the A to Z!

  7. Alex Hurst says:

    Great poem (as usual…. getting tired of me saying that? Haha). I had no idea you were doing Camp NaNo too this month! Wow~ good luck!! I wish I had your drive. @_@

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

RoW80 logo
A-Z 2017 logo
