Sunday summary: One last push

April 27, 2014 by KWills

Well, it’s been a crazy month – or it will have been, in another three days. It’s not over yet, and that means I still have time to catch up and… gah, who am I kidding? I can keep going, but I’m not going to reach the targets I set myself in March.

Time to stop beating myself up over the flop, and figure out why it happened. Blogging daily is unrealistic, I realise. My schedule simply isn’t rigid enough to guarantee time to write a blog each day on top of everything else. I need to set a more reasonable goal for myself – like blogging once a week. And, when I finally get this story written, I’ll be in a pattern for posting that in weekly instalments.

Yes, “when” I get it written. Not “if” – this project is still on. For some reason, I hit a road block early in the story and couldn’t get past it. It doesn’t help that I don’t like my POV character. Being in his head is depressing, and he annoys me. He will grow up by the end of the book, but it’s going to be a long road. This is my second attempt at writing this story, and I think I need to start with a different POV character next time. Maybe if I look at my annoying character through some different lenses I can learn to like him. After all, if I don’t sympathise with him, I can’t expect anyone else to do so.

Today’s poem is another villanelle, dedicated to my awkward character. I’ve varied the strict iambic pentameter with a few substitutions, as well as borrowing a trick from Jan Turner: I “wrapped” the poem by matching the first and last words.


Stubborn Charm

Wells a kind heart beneath that stubborn shell,
I’d find a character so passionate
If only I could get to know you well.

I know that you have quite a tale to tell,
You are far from an utter reprobate
Wells a kind heart beneath that stubborn shell.

Your prejudices (many) will dispel
Although at times they’ll seem to escalate
If only I could get to you well.

Your hate-speech and your actions do not jell,
When danger looms you never hesitate
Wells a kind heart beneath that stubborn shell

And if you learn that inner voice to quell,
You may become a leader to imitate
If only I could get to know you well

This month will sound, too soon, the knell
Of targets missed, but I reiterate:
Wells a kind heart beneath that stubborn shell
If only I could get to know you well!

 

»

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

A-Z 2017 logo
