The (Revised) Plan

1

December 31, 2014 by KWills

I had a plan. It was a good plan, and I was all set to follow it. Then life happened, and… yeah. Well, this is the last Wednesday – in fact, the last day – of 2014, so that makes it time for a look back (briefly) and a look ahead.

What Went Wrong

To quote my sponsor, Ember Rain, from Writing.Com:

“You went into this hoping you would win but not really expecting it.”

This pretty much sums up my entire year. I faced a lot of minor challenges, and each missed target sapped my energy for the next. I loaded all my failures onto my back and tried to take on yet another challenge – NaNoWriMo. My failure was not unexpected – and that’s the problem. As Ember Rain very kindly didn’t say, I set myself low targets and consistently failed to achieve them. With this model, failure is virtually guaranteed.

So, next year, my motto will be: “Shoot for the moon; even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” Of course, my brain – being the dangerous cynic that it is, immediately adds, “…or, you could fail to achieve escape velocity and burn up on re-entry”. Because my brain has no concept of when to shut up.

Last time, I also leapt into the plan with my posts outlined, but not written ahead of time. This was a mistake, and is the reason why most of next month’s posts have been written in the last week of December, needing only status updates and last-minute checks before they go out into the virtual world.

The New Schedule

As before, the plan is to update this blog every Wednesday, with a different theme for each week of the month, like so:

Week One: Writing
– Anything from SPaG mechanics to motivation tricks

Week Two: Reading
– A review or two of what I’m currently reading

Week Three: Story-telling
– In any medium, the principles of telling a good story remain the same

Week 4: Free day
– When there are five Wednesdays in a month, this is the “extra” day.

Last Week: Summary
– Look back, look ahead. Speaking of which…

January

Writing goals:

  • 2k new words per day
  • 6 hours editing per week
  • 3 hours research per week

Current projects: Fragments and Silver Tongue

Other goals:

Well, that’s the plan. Will it survive contact with the new year? Only time will tell. See you next Wednesday for some thoughts on writing.

One thought on “The (Revised) Plan

  1. Lisa says:

    Great goals for the New Year. Thanks for sharing the links to writing websites and forums. I will definitely be checking those out this year.

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

A-Z 2017 logo
