Inspiration

4

April 11, 2016 by KWills

IOne of the first assignments in The Plotting Workshop is to list some key inspirations for your story. Working on my list gave me some valuable insights into my writing, and myself.

For example, I noticed that I’m often more interested in the undertones and structure of the story, than in the plot details. This meshes with my being able to easily identify the theme and character arc of my idea, but having trouble with the actual events. My outline has multiple “stuff happens” sections at the moment. I know what the results of the stuff will be in terms of the group dynamic, but I’m not sure about the details.

I also noticed that I tend to like ensemble stories, which might explain why I had so much trouble deciding on a protagonist. After a lot of discussing itin the group, and re-examining familiar stories, I realised that most of the stories I liked did have a protagonist, even though the plot featured a group. Watership Down, for example, is the story of Hazel; Bleak House is the story of Esther; even Friends is pretty much the story of Rachel, in that it starts when she arrives on the scene, and ends when she gets her happily ever after.

Red Dwarf is an interesting case, because the TV series is the story of Dave, but the books tell the story of Rimmer. Same events, different focuses (focii?).

So Fragments has become the story of Carrick, although there may be follow-up stories telling the events from the view of other key characters.

Finally, I learned that I tend to over-analyse things. Oh, the irony.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Miss Andi says:

    That’s a very interesting approach you’ve got there, not having an event but knowing it’s effect. I’m sure it keeps you on your toes! 😊
    Andrea
    Volunteer in Damyanti’s D Company of the #atozchallenge
    https://musicwordsblog.com/

  2. Great points, I can relate — always over analyze and have trouble deciding on the finer points.
    Happy A to Z.

  3. lol, nice post. I often over analyze as well. I had actually mentioned to a friend that I’d planned out the beginning, the ending and some important events that happen. But that I hated hashing out the details to get from A to Z. It’s in my brain. I just wish there was a faster way to extract it!
    Visiting from A to Z
    https://theconsultingwriter.wordpress.com

  4. I chose to write about inspiration for the letter I as well. Great job. https://mhsusannematthews.wordpress.com/

Comments are closed.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

RoW80 logo
A-Z 2017 logo
