Questioning Assumptions

April 20, 2016 by KWills

QThe planning stage is a great place to explore and test the diversity of a novel’s cast. Not to engage in a box-ticking exercise, or insert token extras, but to take a look at some of the automatic assumptions made about the characters at the moment of their creation. Is the cast mainly white, male, able-bodied, young, good-looking, etc? If so, what can be done?

Once I’d stated to get the plot down for Fragments, I found myself facing these questions. Instead of worrying about balancing the percentages, I tried examining the mental images that I had developed for the characters, and asking myself how the story would change if I altered certain features. Would it affect the plot if I changed the colour of Nesh’s hair, skin, or eyes? What if I made Carrick shorter, or gave Ash a speech impediment? Does Volnar have to be male? Does Falerian have to be in her twenties?

So I changed a few details, and let the story simmer. Sometimes, I ended up discovering that the original description was better – but now at least I knew why. Other times, the change affected the story in a positive way; and mostly the changes didn’t make any difference at all. So long as I held on to the two or three adjectives that made the characters fit their role in the story, I could do what I liked with my cast.

Since I’m writing a fantasy, I don’t have to deal with the social norms of our world – but I can exploit reader expectations to illustrate the prejudices and biases of my fictional world. Or I could subvert those expectations, and discover new and interesting character traits along the way.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 119 other followers

RoW80 logo
A-Z 2017 logo
